South Dakota Insurance Continuing EducationSD Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
South Dakota insurance continuing education requires credit hours be completed every two years per the requirements of the South Dakota Division of Insurance.
All licensed resident producers must complete at least 10 hours of CE every two years to fulfill South Dakota insurance license renewal requirements. Agents licensed in Life & Health AND Property & Casualty must complete 20 CE hours to comply.South Dakota Insurance CE Requirements
- SD renewal requires 10 hours of CE for a L/H or P/C license (20 for both).
- Excess CE credit hours do not carry over to subsequent license renewal periods.
- Courses may not be repeated for credit in the same 2-year renewal term.
Crop-only producers must complete 4 hours of CE each renewal period.
Combine and Save - Finish your Required CE in One Place.
Choose up to ten credits for just $2/credit or any twenty credit package for $35.
The South Dakota Insurance Department charges a $1/credit fee, which will be added during the checkout process. Physical copies of textbooks may be ordered for an additional charge.
Licensed attorneys, limited lines producers, and nonresident agents are exempt from South Dakota insurance continuing education requirements.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.
South Dakota License Renewal Requirements
Time for your South Dakota insurance license renewal? It's important to know:
- 20 hours of CE are required every 2 years for agents licensed in Life, Health, Property, and Casualty (8 hour minimum in LH, 8 hour minimum in PC).
- Courses cannot be repeated for credit in one renewal period.
- Crop only agents must complete 4 hours of CE approved for crop insurance.
- Online, textbook, or classroom courses are acceptable.
- You must pass your course completion examination with a 70% or better.
- Excess credits cannot be carried over to the next renewal period.
- Courses completion exams are open book and do not require a proctor.
- Only 10 hours of CE are required for Life and Health only agents.
- Only 10 hours of CE are required for Property and Casualty only agents.
- Only 10 hours of CE are required for Farm Mutal or Personal Lines agents.
- Only 10 hours of CE are required for Crop & PC agents (2 crop & 8 PC).
- Only 10 hours of CE are required for Crop & LH agents (2 crop & 8 LH).
- Only 20 hours of CE are required for Crop & LH & PC agents (2 crop & 8 PC & 10 LH.
After you pass our course, we will send your completion information on to the South Dakota Department of Insurance through Sircon.