Nebraska Insurance Agent Licensing RequirementsHow to Obtain your Nebraska Insurance Agent License
Resident Producer Licensing
Many of the requirements for individuals residing in Nebraska (you must have your principal home or residence in Nebraska, be able to supply a Nebraska driver's license, etc.) are common to other states as well, including the requirement to have passed a certain number of hours of pre-licensing education pertinent to their intended lines of practice.
The courses offered by CPMI are supplemental learning courses for those who want to take practice tests, learn basic concepts with flashcards, or listen to audio, or watch video, review.
In general all Nebraska Resident Producer applicants must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be deemed trustworthy, competent, and maintain a good personal and business reputation.
- Maintain residence in the state of Nebraska.
- Complete pre-license education requirements.
- Take and pass the written exam and demonstrate comprehensive competence and understanding of basic insurance principles and laws regarding to the lines of insurance for which the applicant wishes to obtain his or her license.
- Pay an initial licensing fee of $60. This fee must be paid as well as the license renewed biennially (every two years).
Nonresident producers are not required to take a Nebraska pre-licensing course before obtaining a Nebraska insurance license.
Producers obtaining their license in a particular line must complete twenty total hours (17 in the line and 3 in ethics) for every line in which they will become licensed. Becoming licensed, then, in Life and Annuities and Sickness, Accident, and Health would require 40 hours of prelicensing training, seventeen in life and annuities, 17 in sickness, accident, and health, and 6 in ethics).