Michigan Insurance Continuing EducationMI Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Michigan insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed every two years per the requirements of the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services.
All licensed resident producers must complete 24 hours of CE every two years, including 3 hours of ethics courses to fulfill Michigan insurance license renewal requirements for Life and Health or for Property and Casualty.
Please note: Effective January 1, 2018, Continuing Education (CE) Warning notifications will no longer be sent through the US Postal Service. Ninety days prior to a licensee’s CE review date, a CE warning notification will be emailed to the Business Email address on the license record to licensees who have not yet completed all required CE coursework.
If a licensee does not have a current email address in the DIFS database, DIFS will be unable to provide CE warning notifications. It is the responsibility of the licensee to update email and mailing addresses.
For renewals beginning after July 1st 2018, licensees may now carryover up to 12 hours as general credit to the next renewal period. Any extra ethics hours will be carried over as general.Michigan Insurance CE Requirements
- MI renewal requires 24 hours of CE (3 in ethics).
- Courses may not be repeated in any renewal period.
- For renewals beginning after July 1st 2018, licensees may now carryover up to 12 hours as general credit to the next renewal period. Any extra ethics hours will be carried over as general.
Pricing shown is for online courses. Physical copies of textbooks may be ordered for an additional fee.
|Suggested Courses (24 hrs One Test)||Hours||Difficulty|
|Life, Health, Property & Casualty Course (24 hrs)||24||Basic||Popular!|
|Life & Health Course (24 hrs)||24||Average||Popular!|
|Life Course (24 hrs)||24||Average||
|Health Course (24 hrs)||24||Average||
|Property & Casualty Course (24 hrs)||24||Average||Popular!|
|Ethics - Handling the Money||8||Basic||Meets Michigan Ethics Requirement|
|Floods and Flood Insurance||5||Basic||Meets NFIP requirement to sell flood insurance.|
|Insurance For Residential Properties||6||Basic|
|Long Term Care 8 hr Initial Training Course||8||Basic||Meets Michigan 8 hr LTC Initial Requirement|
|LTC Partnership 4 hr Review||4||Basic||Meets Michigan 4 hr LTC Review Requirement|
|Variable Annuities||5||Basic||Life Health credit not Annuities|
Michigan Continuing Education Exemptions
Limited life; turkey, crop, and hail; travel, accident, and baggage; title; and credit only producers are not required to complete CE for license renewal
Nonresident producers are not required to comply with Michigan insurance license renewal requirements.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.
Michigan License Renewal Requirements
Time for your Michigan insurance license renewal? It's important to know:
- 24 hours of CE are required every 2 years.
- 3 of the 24 hours must be in ethics.
- Any courses approved for CE in MI may be taken for credit.
- Online, textbook, or classroom courses are acceptable.
- You must pass your course completion examination with a 70% or better.
- Beginning 7/1/2018, licensees may now carryover up to 12 hours as general credit to the next renewal period.
- Courses cannot be repeated for credit twice in the same renewal period.
- Producers born in even years will renew in even years by the last day of their birth month, if you were born in an odd year, you will renew in odd years.
- Courses completion exams must be taken with a proctor and are not open book.
After you pass our course, we will send your completion information on to the Michigan Department of Insurance.