Iowa Insurance Continuing Education

IA Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
IA Insurance Producer Continuing Education

All licensed resident producers working in major lines must complete 36 hours of CE every three years, including 3 hours of Ethics to fulfill Iowa insurance license renewal requirements.

CPMI can help you fulfill your self-study hours at very low prices! For example our very popular Life Insurance Fundamentals course is only $24!

Iowa Insurance CE Requirements

Crop-only producers are required to complete 18 total hours, of which 3 must be in Ethics.

Ethics Webinar Signup

Iowa Insurance Producers - Finish your Required CE for Less.

Pricing shown is for online courses. Physical copies of textbooks may be ordered for an additional fee. The Iowa Insurance Department charges a $1.00/credit fee, which will be added during the checkout process.

All Lines Life & Health Property & Casualty Life Only Health Only
Course Name Hours Difficulty
Accident, Health & Disability Insurance Fundamentals 12 Basic
Annuity Fundamentals 2 Basic General credit, not annuity credit
Avoiding E&O Claims 4 Basic
Casualty Insurance Fundamentals 9 Basic
Ethics 101 Webinar Class 3 Basic Meets Iowa Ethics Requirement. Classroom Credit!
Ethics.. Handling the Money 10 Basic Meets Iowa Ethics Requirement
Ethical Insurance Practices 7 Basic Meets Iowa Ethics Requirement
Floods and Flood Insurance 5 Basic Meets NFIP requirement to sell flood insurance.
Homeowners Insurance Valuation 9 Average
Insurance Ethics 101 3 Basic Meets Iowa Ethics Requirement
Insurance For Residential Properties 6 Basic
Life Insurance Fundamentals 12 Basic
Property Insurance Fundamentals 6 Basic
Retirement IRAs 7 Average
Variable Annuities 5 Basic Meets Iowa req. to sell annuities.


Iowa Continuing Education Exemptions

Active duty servicemen and servicewomen are exempt from the Iowa CE requirement.

Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.

Iowa License Renewal Requirements

Time for your Iowa insurance license renewal? It's important to know:

  • 36 hours of CE are required every 3 years.
  • Online, textbook, or classroom courses are acceptable (3 hours must be in ethics. 18 hours MUST be completed in the classroom).
  • Agents may take any approved course for credit.
  • Courses cannot be repeated for credit twice in the same reporting period.
  • Excess credit hours cannot be carried over to the next renewal period.
  • Course completion exams must be proctored and are not open book.
  • 70% or better is required to pass the course completion exam.

After you pass our course, we will send your completion information on to the Iowa Department of Insurance.

©2018 CPMI Professional Development Inc - Insurance License Training & CE
691 W 1200 North, Ste 150, Springville, UT 84663
Insurance EducationAboutContact