Colorado Insurance Continuing Education

CO Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Colorado Insurance Producer Continuing Education

Colorado insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed every two years before an insurance license can be renewed. Producers must complete 24 hours of CE, 3 of which must be Ethics and 18 in lines for which a license is held.

*Effective January 1, 2014: All CO producers licensed to sell property or personal lines insurance (such as Life) must complete 3 hours of CE in homeowner's insurance coverage each license term.

Colorado Insurance CE Requirements

Combine and Save - Finish your Required CE for Just $39.

Choose any of these packages for just $39.

Pricing shown is for online courses. Physical copies of textbooks may be ordered for an additional $6 per course (plus a flat $10 shipping charge).


Suggested Packages Hours Difficulty
Life & Health Fundamentals Package

3 Courses: Life Insurance Fundamentals, Health Insurance Fundamentals, Ethics 101

28 Basic
Life Fundamentals Package

3 Courses: Life Insurance Fundamentals, Business Life Insurance, Ethics 101

25 Basic
Health Fundamentals Package

3 Courses: Health Insurance Fundamentals, Business Disability Insurance, Ethics 101

25 Basic
Property & Casualty Fundamentals Package

3 Courses: Homeowners Insurance Valuation, Casualty Insurance Fundamentals, Ethics 101

25 Basic Meets Colorado requirement to sell Homeowners Insurance.
Property & Disaster Fundamentals Package

3 Courses: Property Insurance Fundamentals, Homeowners Insurance Valuation, Ethical Insurance Practices

28 Basic Meets Colorado requirement to sell Homeowners Insurance.
General Insurance Package

4 Courses: Identity Theft, Avoiding E&O Claims, Hedge Fund Basics, Ethical Insurance Practices

26 Basic

Check out our complete course listing.Hide complete course listing. Go to shopping cart.


All Lines Life & Health Property & Casualty Life Only Health Only
Course Name Hours Difficulty
Accident, Health & Disability Insurance Fundamentals 12 Basic
Annuity Fundamentals 4 Basic Meets Colorado requirement to sell annuities.
Avoiding E&O Claims 4 Basic
Business Disability Insurance 9 Average
Business Life Insurance 9 Average
Casualty Insurance Fundamentals 12 Basic
College Planning and Funding 12 Average
Disability Income Insurance 6 Average
Ethical Insurance Practices 7 Basic Meets Colorado Ethics Requirement
Ethics - Handling the Money 10 Basic Meets Colorado Ethics requirement.
Floods and Flood Insurance 4 Basic Meets NFIP requirement to sell flood insurance.
Hedge Fund Basics 7 Basic
Homeowners Insurance Valuation 9 Average Meets Colorado requirement to sell Homeowners Insurance.
Identity Theft 8 Basic
Insurance Ethics 101 4 Basic Meets Colorado Ethics Requirement
Insurance For Residential Properties 7 Basic
Life Insurance Fundamentals 12 Basic
Understanding the Patient Protection & Affordable Care Act 12 Average
Property Insurance Fundamentals 12 Basic
Retirement IRAs 12 Average
Variable Annuities 5 Basic Meets Colorado requirement to sell annuities.

 

Colorado Continuing Education Exemptions

Nonresident producers who are licensed in good standing in their home state and pay a biennial continuation fee to the Colorado Insurance Department are not required to complete Colorado's mandatory insurance continuing education.

Producers who are licensed to only write Travel Ticket Selling, Bail Bonding, Title, Limited Lines Credit, and Crop Hail do not need to do CE.

Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.

Colorado License Renewal Requirements

Time for your Colorado insurance license renewal? It's important to know:

  • 24 hours of CE are required every 2 years. (3 hours ethics, 18 hours approved for lines in which the license is held, and 3 hours miscellaneous)
  • Online, textbook, or classroom courses are acceptable.
  • Courses cannot be repeated for credit within 2 years (completion dates must be at least 2 years apart).
  • You must pass your course completion examination with a 70% or better.
  • Courses completion exams must be proctored and are not open book.
  • Excess credits, up to 12 hours of credit, may carry over to your next renewal period if the courses were taken during the last 120 days of the licensing cycle. Ethics carries over as general credit.

After you pass our course, we will send your completion information on to Sircon.


©2016 CPMI Professional Development Inc - Insurance License Training & CE
613 Countryside Drive, Germantown Hills, IL 61548
Insurance EducationAboutContact