Oklahoma Insurance Continuing EducationOK Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Oklahoma insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed every two years per the requirements of the Oklahoma Department of Insurance.
All licensed resident producers and adjusters must complete 24 hours of CE every two years, including 3 hours of ethics courses & 2 in legislative updates to fulfill Oklahoma insurance license renewal requirements.Oklahoma Insurance CE Requirements
- OK renewal requires 24 hours of CE (3 in ethics).
- Licenses issued in even years renew in even years, licensed issued in odd years renew in odd years.
- Courses must be taken in subject matter approved for the particular license or licenses an agent holds.
- Up to 6 extra credit hours may count towards the next OK insurance license renewal period.
- Courses may not be repeated for credit in the same 2-year renewal term.
Viatical settlement brokers should complete 4 total hours (3 in viatical training and 1 in ethics) every renewal period. Life insurance agents who also operate as viatical settlement brokers do not need to complete any additional CE credits.Oklahoma Continuing Education Exemptions
Individual agents may petition the Oklahoma Director of Insurance for exemptions to the CE requirement based upon indivual extenuating circumstances such as prolonged sickness. Nonresident agents and limited-lines agents are exempt from Oklahoma insurance continuing education requirements.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.