Montana Insurance Continuing EducationMT Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Montana insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed every two years per the requirements of the Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance.
All licensed resident producers must complete 24 hours of CE every two years, including 3 hours of ethics courses and one hour of Montana legislative statutes to fulfill Montana insurance license renewal requirements for Life and Health or for Property and Casualty.
The same requirements apply to insurance adjusters. Limited lines credit-only producers are required to complete 5 CE hours, 1 in statutes.Montana Insurance CE Requirements
- MT renewal requires 24 hours of CE (3 in ethics, 1 of state statutes).
- Excess credit hours do not carry over.
- Courses may not be repeated for credit within two years of being taken.
- Licenses renew in odd numbered years for agents born in odd-numbered years, and even for agents born in even-numbered years.
Nonresident or temporary producers are the only standard exemptions to the Montana insurance continuing ed requirement. Extraordinary circumstances may allow for additional exemptions at the discretion of the Commissioner.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.