Missouri Insurance Continuing EducationMO Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Missouri insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed every two years per the requirements of the Missouri Department of Insurance.
All licensed resident producers must complete 16 hours of CE every two years, including 3 hours of ethics courses to fulfill Missouri insurance license renewal requirements for Life and Health or for Property and Casualty.Missouri Insurance CE Requirements
- MO renewal requires 16 hours of CE (3 in ethics).
- Producers must take courses approved for the lines of authority in which they are licensed, licensees in multiple lines of authority may take classes in any line for which they are licensed.
- All credit hours taken in excess of the 16 required hours may carry over to an agent's next MO license renewal period.
- Courses may not be repeated for credit during the same licensing period.
Active duty military, agents with a severe or long-term illness with approval from the Department of Insurance, and credit/crop/funeral planning only producers are exempt from CE. Additionally, nonresident insurance producers are not required to comply with Missouri insurance license renewal requirements.
Agents over 70 are not required to comply with Missouri Insurance CE.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.