Kentucky Insurance Continuing EducationKY Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Kentucky insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed every two years per the requirements of the Kentucky Department of Insurance.
All licensed resident producers must complete 24 hours of CE every two years, including 3 hour of ethics to fulfill Kentucky insurance license renewal requirements for Life and Health or for Property and Casualty.
At least six hours of the total 24 must be completed in topics pertinent to the agent's licensed lines of authority.Kentucky Insurance CE Requirements
- KY renewal requires 24 hours of CE (including 3 hours of ethics).
- Producers born in even-numbered years must renew their license every even numbered year, and vice-versa for producers born in odd-numbered years.
- Self-study courses do not require a proctor.
- One course may not be repeated twice within a two year period for credit.
- Up to 12 CE credit hours may carry over towards the next licensing period requirement.
Limited lines producers, producers who have not been licensed for a full year at the time of license renewal, and nonresident licensees are considered exempt from Kentucky insurance CE as long as they maintain an active resident license in another state.
Additionally, agents licensed for the exclusive purpose of receiving renewals or deferred commissions are not required to complete Kentucky continuing education.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.