Hawaii Insurance Continuing EducationHI Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Hawaii insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed per the requirements of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. Producers licensed in one or two linces of authority must complete 24 hours of CE every year, three of which must be in ethics or law to renew their license.
Producers licensed in life and health as well as property and casualty are also required to finish 24 total hours, but with mandatory break-downs in each line (10 in life/health, 11 in property/casualty, & 3 in ethics or law).Hawaii Insurance CE Requirements
- HI resident license renewals require 24 hours of CE (including 3 hours of ethics).
- Courses must be in the line of authority for which the agent is licensed.
- Courses cannot be repeated for credit in the same renewal period.
All nonresident license holders in good standing in their home state are exempted from Hawaii CE requirements. Additionally, the Commissioner may grant exemptions to the CE requirement on an individual basis per his or her discretion.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.