Florida Insurance Continuing EducationFL Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Florida insurance continuing education required credit hours must be completed per the requirements of the Department of Financial Services. Producers must complete 24 hours of CE every two years to renew their license.
Florida insurance license renewal is required every two years before the end of the agent's month of birth. The very first time an agent renews his or her license could be up to two years and eleven months after the date of initial insurance licensing.Florida Insurance CE Requirements
- FL resident license renewals require 24 hours of CE.
- Courses cannot be repeated for credit within three years.
- Basic courses can only count as credit during an agent's first six years of being licensed.
- Agents who do not complete their Florida insurance CE on time must pay a $250 fine, and are still required to complete their CE hours.
There are no standard exemptions to the FL insurance continuing education requirements. Non-resident producers are required to comply with the CE requirements of their home state.
Waivers to the CE requirement may be granted by the Commissioner, but must be handled between a producer and the Department on a case-by-case basis.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.