Arkansas Insurance Continuing EducationAR Insurance Continuing Ed (CE) Courses
Arkansas insurance continuing education requirements have changed as of January 1, 2011. License renewal should be completed based upon an individual agent's year of birth. If you were born in an odd year, you will be required to renew your license every odd year (2013, 2015, etc). Insurance producers with birthdays in even years will be required to renew their license every even year (2012, 2014, etc).
This is a change from the previous Arkansas insurance CE requirement that a license be renewed annually from the date the license was originally issued.Arkansas Insurance CE Requirements
- 2011 & 2012 producer license renewals will require 12 hours of CE (including 2 hours of ethics).
- Producers and adjusters must obtain 12 CE credits every license renewal (including 2 hours of ethics) every year after that.
- Courses cannot be repeated for credit within 2 years.
- Extra credit hours may carry over to the next renewal period up to the total number of required hours.
Resident Arkansas producers licensed prior to 2003 will be considered exempt from the insurance continuing education requirement after reaching 60 years of age or 15 years of licensure without a lapse of the license.
Because of a change in state statutes, producers licensed after 2003 will not qualify for this exemption.
Under federal law, even exempt individuals must take the required LTC course before they can begin selling long term care policies.